It Was Nothing (Нечего), Vladimir Soloukhin

vladimir soloukhin 2

 

Trees feature much in Soloukhin’s work. This poem was written in 1955. It may perhaps refer to the crimes of Stalin and the buried consciences of Soviet citizens as they found a measure of freedom under Khrushchev; or it may just be a poem about the innocence and cruelty of childhood…

The shift in metre in the seventh stanza certainly suggests a change of gear.

There wasn’t a thing to cry about,
Behind me I cast a smile,
The hush of the evening cloaking me
As garden I paced a while.

And, sleeping, the trees they silent stood,
The sunset with fire was bold.
I do not recall the reason why,
I wanted a twig to hold.

A youngster I was, and so of course
The questions in floods they came!
And so I approached my chosen twig
Which trended with skywards aim.

It stood all alone and vulnerable,
And under my gaze it froze.
Before it I like a monster was.
I stood with a killer’s pose.

The dampness of spring the garden gripped,
My breath it hung in the air.
I didn’t yet know a tree might grow
From sapling that held my stare.

I took out my father’s scissors now,
And stooping to ground I made
To plunge in the sapling’s apple skin
The sharpened and steely blade.

Limp now became the sapling’s leaves
Dying without a fight…
And I
Had a dream of apple tree,
Lost in the misty night.

Blown by the wind sad branches swayed,
Dusted by coat of snow!
Merrily flew the buzzing bees,
Spurned they the apple, though.

Ever since then the memory’s clung:
Always the spring it brings,
Ushers in bright white apple tree,
Dreams of the scheme of things!

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Теперь-то уж плакать нечего,
С усмешкой гляжу назад,
Как шел я однажды к вечеру
В притихший вечерний сад.

Деревья стояли сонные,
Закатные, все в огне.
Неважно зачем, не помню я,
Но нужен был прутик мне.

Ребенок я был, а нуте-ка
Возьмите с ребенка спрос!
И вот подошел я к прутику,
Который так прямо рос.

Стоял он один, беспомощен,
Под взглядом моим застыл.
Я был для него чудовищем.
Убийцей зловещим был.

А сад то вечерней сыростью,
То легким теплом дышал.
Не знал я, что может вырасти
Из этого малыша.

Взял я отцовы ножницы,
К земле я его пригнул
И по зеленой кожице
Лезвием саданул.

Стали листочки дряблыми,
Умерли, не помочь…
А мне,
Мне приснилась яблоня
В ту же, пожалуй, ночь.

Ветви печально свесила,
Снега и то белей!
Пчелы летают весело,
Только не к ней, не к ней!

Что я с тех пор ни делаю,
Каждый год по весне
Яблоня белая-белая
Ходит ко мне во сне!

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a Reply

