“The snow will tumble” (А снег повалится), Yevgeny Yevtushenko

yevtushenko

The thirty-three year old Yevtushenko struggles to come to terms with the march of time. A few years later his cynicism seems confirmed

The snow will tumble, it will tumble down…
and in its canvas I will see
my youth has grown accustomed to its frown,
its scrutiny again on me.

And so it leads me somewhere by the hand,
in steps and shades of other men,
and it the fearsome ancient spell has spanned
of blizzard, flames and trees again.

And thus it seems to me, it seems to me,
as sadly Moscow’s streets I pace,
though time is short to be both young and free,
I’ll never flee from youth’s embrace.

And so the night will spin and spin and spin
and into sin will suck you deep,
my youth, will cloak itself in snowy skin,
deceit’s fresh melt begin to weep.

No sooner has it daubed its butter blends,
in cold unjudging light of day,
the gypsy-spirit hold that’s my pretence –
than my dim youth is on its way.

The call of transformation has me found,
my artless heart it’s time to rein,
and I myself, like wander-lustful hound,
will sullen sit on end of chain.

But snow will tumble, it will tumble down,
and swallow more with every spin,
my youth again begin to don its crown,
make under window gypsy din.

The snow will tumble, it will tumble down,
I’ll bite clean through my chains of woe –
unfurling like a snowball’s spreading gown
towards another’s boots below.

 

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

А снег повалится, повалится…
и я прочту в его канве,
что моя молодость повадится
опять заглядывать ко мне.

И поведет куда-то за руку,
на чьи-то тени и шаги,
и вовлечет в старинный заговор
огней, деревьев и пурги.

И мне покажется, покажется
по Сретенкам и Моховым,
что молод не был я пока еще,
а только буду молодым.

И ночь завертится, завертится
и, как в воронку, втянет в грех,
и моя молодость завесится
со мною снегом ото всех.

Но, сразу ставшая накрашенной
при беспристрастном свете дня,
цыганкой, мною наигравшейся,
оставит молодость меня.

Начну я жизнь переиначивать,
свою наивность застыжу
и сам себя, как пса бродячего,
на цепь угрюмо посажу.

Но снег повалится, повалится,
закружит все веретеном,
и моя молодость появится
опять цыганкой под окном.

А снег повалится, повалится,
и цепи я перегрызу,
и жизнь, как снежный ком, покатится
к сапожкам чьим-то там, внизу.

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a Reply

