“I do not like” (“Я не люблю”), Vladimir Vysotsky

vysotsk2

 

A collaboration with Ian Mac Eochagáin. We paid especial attention to accuracy, scansion and register.

Vysotsky was a hugely popular actor, singer-songwriter and poet, especially famed for the gravelly quality of his voice. He died during the 1980 Moscow Olympics. An enormous crowd gathered on Tagan’skaya Square, which uncomfortably placed the spotlight on the regime when the world was watching.

Here is Vysotsky singing this song.

I do not like unhappy mortal ending,
I’m not the sort who weary grows of life.
The seasons with each other all are blending
Unless guitar is playing merry strife.

I do not like cold cynical beholder,
I don’t believe in idle rapture too,
I hate it when a person over shoulder
Stands reading letters meant for only you.

I do not like unfinished conversations,
Or when a person interrupts my flow.
A shot in back is cause of reservations,
And bullets in the face are bad, you know.

I hate in all its forms the idle chatter,
The worms of doubt, the pompous medals lined,
Or when disorder doesn’t seem to matter,
Or when the glass and iron start to grind.

I do not like the smugness of assurance,
I’d rather brakes of motor failed on track!
It saddens me that honour’s no endurance,
And slander’s spread behind a person’s back

And when I see another’s wings are broken –
it’s not for nothing pities don’t arise,
I hate assault and strong words weakly spoken.
I only pity Christ this crucifies.

I do not like myself when I’m a coward,
It shames me when the little ones are hit,
I do not like it when my soul’s invaded,
Especially when into it they spit.

I do not like the horse trade of arenas,
Where public simply doesn’t understand.
Advance at will approach of massive changes,
I hate events which I have never planned.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::.

Я не люблю фатального исхода,
От жизни никогда не устаю.
Я не люблю любое время года,
Когда веселых песен не пою.

холодного цинизма,
В восторженность не верю, и еще –
Когда чужой мои читает письма,
Заглядывая мне через плечо.

Я не люблю, когда наполовину
Или когда прервали разговор.
Я не люблю, когда стреляют в спину,
Я также против выстрелов в упор.

Я ненавижу сплетни в виде версий,
Червей сомненья, почестей иглу,
Или – когда все время против шерсти,
Или – когда железом по стеклу.

Я не люблю уверенности сытой,
Уж лучше пусть откажут тормоза!
Досадно мне, что слово “честь” забыто,
И что в чести наветы за глаза.

Когда я вижу сломанные крылья –
Нет жалости во мне и неспроста.
Я не люблю насилье и бессилье,
Вот только жаль распятого Христа.

Я не люблю себя, когда я трушу,
Обидно мне, когда невинных бьют,
Я не люблю, когда мне лезут в душу,
Тем более, когда в нее плюют.

Я не люблю манежи и арены,
На них мильон меняют по рублю,
Пусть впереди большие перемены,
Я это никогда не полюблю.

Translation by Rupert Moreton and Ian Mac Eochagáin

One thought on ““I do not like” (“Я не люблю”), Vladimir Vysotsky

Leave a Reply

