In Paradise (В раю), Marina Tsvetaeva

Marina Tsvetajeva

This was written in 1909, when Tsvetaeva was 19 – but her blunt rejection of the notion of eternity is already clear.

My memory weighs down hard upon my shoulder,
When I’m in paradise I’ll weep for earth,
And when we meet past-uttered words won’t moulder –
For what they’re worth.

Where hosts of graceful harping angels flutter,
Where lilies bloom as choir of children plays,
Where all is peaceful, I shall restless mutter
And catch your gaze.

And seeing with a smile these images of heaven,
Alone amidst pure virgins’ stern disdain,
I’ll introduce an alien, earthy leaven –
My song profane!

My memory hard upon my shoulder presses,
When comes the time I’ll freely shed a tear…
We’ll nowhere need to meet as time progresses,
For we’ll not wake in heaven then, I fear.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Воспоминанье слишком давит плечи,
Я о земном заплачу и в раю,
Я старых слов при нашей новой встрече
Не утаю.

Где сонмы ангелов летают стройно,
Где арфы, лилии и детский хор,
Где всё покой, я буду беспокойно
Ловить твой взор.

Виденья райские с усмешкой провожая,
Одна в кругу невинно-строгих дев,
Я буду петь, земная и чужая,
Земной напев!

Воспоминанье слишком давит плечи,
Настанет миг,- я слез не утаю…
Ни здесь, ни там,- нигде не надо встречи,
И не для встреч проснемся мы в раю!

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a Reply

