“Let time decide now whether you’ve been for good or ill” (К добру ты или к худу, решает время пусть”), Yevgeny Yevtushenko

478px-Evtushenko
By Cybersky (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
This was written in 1953 – the year of Stalin’s death. It’s perhaps too tempting to think that the poem is somehow a commentary on Old Joe…

Let time decide now whether
you’ve been for good or ill.
Imprisoned by your tether,
I’ve really had my fill.
Your calls are unrelenting,
but at receiver’s bray
my neighbour, tale inventing,
insists that I’m away.
And you disturb me daily
with all your wretched screeds.
You write that life without me
does not fulfil your needs,
that I am quite peculiar,
that you are feeble and
that last night drunken Vitka
petitioned for your hand.
I’m welling up with anguish,
the conflict and the bliss…
when with you I shall languish,
alone, I face abyss.
Dispassionate, I’m trying
to fathom all your dreams –
attempt at clarifying
what ended my love’s streams.
His brand new blue suit wearing,
made specially for this day,
old Vitka’s now preparing
to rush to have his way.
He’s eager and persistent,
consumed by ardour’s search,
post-doctoral assistant –
outstanding his research.
And through the April puddles
the rain he’ll navigate,
but you won’t take his cuddles,
for him you will not wait –
at Hermitage you’re treading,
and out to me you call:
you hear the news you’re dreading –
I’m not at home at all.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

К добру ты или к худу,
решает время пусть.
Но лишь с тобой побуду,
я хуже становлюсь.
Ты мне звонишь нередко,
но всякий раз в ответ,
как я просил, соседка
твердит, что дома нет.
А ты меня тревожишь
письмом любого дня.
Ты пишешь, что не можешь
ни часу без меня,
что я какой-то странный,
что нету больше сил,
что Витька Силин пьяный
твоей руки просил.
Я полон весь то болью,
то счастьем, то борьбой…
Что делать мне с тобою?
Что делать мне с собой?!
Смотреть стараюсь трезво
на все твои мечты.
И как придумать средство,
чтоб разлюбила ты?
В костюме новом синем,
что по заказу сшит,
наверно, Витька Силин
сейчас к тебе спешит.
Он ревностен и стоек.
В душе – любовный пыл.
Он аспирант-историк
и что-то там открыл.
Среди весенних лужиц
идет он через дождь,
а ты его не любишь,
а ты его не ждешь,
а ты у Эрмитажа
стоишь, ко мне звоня,
и знаешь – снова скажут,
что дома нет меня.

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a comment