“My love for you is not an ardent thing” (“Нет, не тебя так пылко я люблю”), Mikhail Lermontov

lermontov_m

Lermontov wrote this in 1841.

My love for you is not an ardent thing,
And I can take or leave your beauty’s lustre:
In you I love past suffering’s memories’ muster,
The misspent youth to which I’d like to cling.

And when, betimes, I look upon your face,
On delving eyes in my preoccupation:
I’m having then a secret conversation,
For you are not my words of passion’s chase.

I’m talking to a love of younger days,
And in your face I’m other’s features seeking,
The lips of one who’s long since finished speaking,
In eyes extinguished flame of other’s gaze.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Нет, не тебя так пылко я люблю,
Не для меня красы твоей блистанье:
Люблю в тебе я прошлое страданье
И молодость погибшую мою.

Когда порой я на тебя смотрю,
В твои глаза вникая долгим взором:
Таинственным я занят разговором,
Но не с тобой я сердцем говорю.

Я говорю с подругой юных дней,
В твоих чертах ищу черты другие,
В устах живых уста давно немые,
В глазах огонь угаснувших очей.

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a Reply

