“Forgive me” (“Ah, anteeks anna”), Uuno Kailas

 

Forgive me that I am in love with you.
I do not dare to ask another thing.
And all that now is left for me to bring
are joy and pain that I’m in love with you.

Forgive me that I am in love with you.
If you desire to hate, then hate you must.
It’s painful leaving you, but you can trust
I don’t regret that I’m in love with you.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Ah, anteeks anna, että rakastan.
En tohdi pyytää mitään enempää.
Mun ainoaksi osakseni jää
se riemu, tuska, että rakastan.

Ah, anteeks anna, että rakastan.
Jos mielit vihata, niin vihaa vaan.
Sun luotas lähden, kärsin — kuitenkaan
ma unhoita en, että rakastan.

Translation by Rupert Moreton 

Leave a Reply

