“Amidst reputed lovers’ spree” (“Среди любовью слывшего”), Yevgeny Yevtushenko

I freely admit there’s a lot of guesswork here.

Amidst reputed lovers’ spree,
the mesh of hands and fate,
you haven’t, dear one, heard from me
about my love to date.

So do not ask about the truth,
allow me own my debt –
sincerity is not my suit,
at candour I’m inept.

But don’t succumb to mournful mien
believe in your bright star –
I haven’t yet your likeness seen
nor met your like so far.

You see
……..your strength won’t stay its course,
to live
……..your love must burn,
and if you ride deception’s horse
deception’s what you’ll earn;

Abandoning naivety
is more than I can do –
expecting reciprocity
of feeling’s foolish too…

I wish I could forget it all
and think of me alone,
but still you hold me in your thrall
I want you for my own.

When will all these misfortunes end?
again my pain I face –
to love I’d rather not pretend,
and yet I want its grace.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Среди любовью слывшего
сплетенья рук и бед
ты от меня не слышала,
любима или нет.

Не спрашивай об истине.
Пусть буду я в долгу –
я не могу быть искренним,
и лгать я не могу.

Но не гляди тоскующе
и верь своей звезде –
хорошую такую же
я не встречал нигде.

Всё так,
……..но силы мало ведь,
чтоб жить,
……..взахлёб любя,
ну, а тебя обманывать –
обманывать себя;

и заменять в наивности
вовек не научусь
я чувства без взаимности
взаимностью без чувств…

Хочу я память вытеснить
и думать о своём,
но всё же тянет видеться
и быть с тобой вдвоём.

Когда всё это кончится?!
Я мучаюсь опять –
и брать любовь не хочется,
и страшно потерять.

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a Reply

