Babi Yar (Бабий Яр), Yevgeny Yevtushenko

"Babi Jar ravijn" by Markv from nl. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons - https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Babi_Jar_ravijn.jpg#/media/File:Babi_Jar_ravijn.jpg
“Babi Jar ravijn” by Markv from nl. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Babi_Jar_ravijn.jpg#/media/File:Babi_Jar_ravijn.jpg

More than a hundred thousand people – and more than thirty thousand in a single day – were massacred by the Nazis at Babi Yar, outside Kiev, in the Second World War. Yevtushenko’s poem rails against the Soviet regime, which preferred not to acknowledge what had happened. He wrote it in 1961, before Brezhnev made such expression difficult again. Shostakovich used Yevtushenko’s text for his great thirteenth symphony.

At Babi Yar no memorial presides.
A rough and looming cliff is the tombstone.
I’m frightened.
I am old today – the tides
of ages join my years with Jewish people’s.

It seems to me that now
I’m a Jew.
Ancient Egypt the scene of questing wander.
That was I nailed to cross on Calvary yonder,
until today the marks of nails I show.
It seems to me that Dreyfus
I’ve become.
The shyster
turns me in, down turns his thumb.
I’m cast in prison.
There is no escape.
I’m despisèd,
rejected and
grief-acquainted.
And so the crowds of ladies, oh so fashionable,
with their umbrellas stabbing, on me gape.
It seems to me
in Bialystok I’m youngster.
The blood it pours, it’s spreading on the floors.
Ringleaders, rampant, empty shelves of tavern –
of vodka, onion, reek from pillaged stores.
Boots I’ve discarded – I’m completely powerless.
In vain for mercy from the thugs I plead.
A storeman,
“Beat the Yids, save Russia!” snorting,
by force with mother satisfies his need.
Beloved Russian folk!
I know you
well –
an internationalist you are in essence.
But often the dirty-handed beggars
the pureness of your name they foul besmirch.
I know the goodness of your rich black earth.
Disgusting
that without demur or flinching
anti-Semites, surviving the purge,
now call themselves the “Union of the Russians”!
It seems to me
that I’ve become Anne Frank,
diaphanous,
like twiglet fresh in April.
And so I love.
I need no special phrase.
I only
need us gazing at each other.
How little eyes can see
and noses
smell. And forbidden
to us leaves and sky.
One gesture now remaining –
gently can we
embrace in darkened room as day closes.
They’re coming here?
Don’t be afraid – that’s rumbling
vernal approach –
she’s coming towards us now.
Come here to me.
Lips press to mine – no stumbling.
Is that the door?
That’s crack of ice reproach.
At Babi Yar there’s rustle of wild thyme.
The towering trees look down so sternly
in their judgement.
And all the silence screams,
cap holding, I’m
now feeling sick,
my cheeks pallid.
And I am
like an endless, soundless screech
over the thousands, thousands buried.
I’m
every old man shot in this ditch.
I’m
every little child whom they murdered.
This will be etched
for ever in my memory.
“Internationale”
will ring out loud
when all the anti-Semites have been buried
expunged from earth this filthy wicked crowd.
You’ll say my blood is not theirs, and it’s true.
But I’m despised with passioned, hardened hatred
by anti-Semites as if I
were a Jew,
and that is why
I am authentic Russian!

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Над Бабьим Яром памятников нет.
Крутой обрыв, как грубое надгробье.
Мне страшно.
Мне сегодня столько лет,
как самому еврейскому народу.

Мне кажется сейчас –
я иудей.
Вот я бреду по древнему Египту.
А вот я, на кресте распятый, гибну,
и до сих пор на мне – следы гвоздей.
Мне кажется, что Дрейфус –
это я.
Мещанство –
мой доносчик и судья.
Я за решеткой.
Я попал в кольцо.
Затравленный,
оплеванный,
оболганный.
И дамочки с брюссельскими оборками,
визжа, зонтами тычут мне в лицо.
Мне кажется –
я мальчик в Белостоке.
Кровь льется, растекаясь по полам.
Бесчинствуют вожди трактирной стойки
и пахнут водкой с луком пополам.
Я, сапогом отброшенный, бессилен.
Напрасно я погромщиков молю.
Под гогот:
“Бей жидов, спасай Россию!”-
насилует лабазник мать мою.
О, русский мой народ! –
Я знаю –
ты
По сущности интернационален.
Но часто те, чьи руки нечисты,
твоим чистейшим именем бряцали.
Я знаю доброту твоей земли.
Как подло,
что, и жилочкой не дрогнув,
антисемиты пышно нарекли
себя “Союзом русского народа”!
Мне кажется –
я – это Анна Франк,
прозрачная,
как веточка в апреле.
И я люблю.
И мне не надо фраз.
Мне надо,
чтоб друг в друга мы смотрели.
Как мало можно видеть,
обонять!
Нельзя нам листьев
и нельзя нам неба.
Но можно очень много –
это нежно
друг друга в темной комнате обнять.
Сюда идут?
Не бойся — это гулы
самой весны –
она сюда идет.
Иди ко мне.
Дай мне скорее губы.
Ломают дверь?
Нет – это ледоход…
Над Бабьим Яром шелест диких трав.
Деревья смотрят грозно,
по-судейски.
Все молча здесь кричит,
и, шапку сняв,
я чувствую,
как медленно седею.
И сам я,
как сплошной беззвучный крик,
над тысячами тысяч погребенных.
Я –
каждый здесь расстрелянный старик.
Я –
каждый здесь расстрелянный ребенок.
Ничто во мне
про это не забудет!
“Интернационал”
пусть прогремит,
когда навеки похоронен будет
последний на земле антисемит.
Еврейской крови нет в крови моей.
Но ненавистен злобой заскорузлой
я всем антисемитам,
как еврей,
и потому –
я настоящий русский!

Translation by Rupert Moreton

 

7 thoughts on “Babi Yar (Бабий Яр), Yevgeny Yevtushenko

Leave a comment