Prayer (Молитва), Mikhail Lermontov

Graffiti portrait of John Cleese, Lisbon. Photograph by Brocco.

I was a Russian student when A Fish Called Wanda was released in 1988. Famously, John Cleese’s recitation of a Russian poem sends Jamie Lee Curtis into a frenzy. At the time, Cleese’s Russian sounded almost plausible. It turns out it was this poem by Lermontov.

When troubled spell afflicts my life
And sadness grips my heart:
One pleasing prayer relieves my strife –
To say it then I start.

There is a God-sent blessed strength
With lively words in tune,
And holy charm breathes through their length
Whose source remains unknown.

And from my soul the burden seeps
And doubt is far away –
And faith is stirred and spirit weeps,
And lightness holds new sway.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

В минуту жизни трудную
Теснится ль в сердце грусть:
Одну молитву чудную
Твержу я наизусть.

Есть сила благодатная
В созвучьи слов живых,
И дышит непонятная,
Святая прелесть в них.

С души как бремя скатится,
Сомненье далеко —
И верится, и плачется,
И так легко, легко…

Translation by Rupert Moreton

Leave a comment